19 Comments

Welcome back! Love the newsletter and glad it's returning. My favorite bits were I guess the essays – pieces about trends and commentary and state-of-country (or whatever) type pieces. Giving your two cents on whatever music news story is blowing up on Twitter or whatever new bro-in-a-backwards-hat Nashville is pushing to radio this week. And I dug the new song recs. Once every week or two is plenty for me.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

I enjoy interviews with artists I really should know more about. That interview with Miko Marks helped make me a fan. I also get a lot out of your political critiques of Nashville and the music industry. One thing that I personally would find enriching is something about the writing process. I know that's a different lane, but you are two of my favorite journalists and I think it would be fascinating to read about how you approach critical writing, interviews, reviews and books. Maybe that's a different newsletter, but it would be valuable to many of your readers and fans. As far as frequency, I understand that this isn't a paying gig. Would once a month work?

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

New to the newsletter! I loved Her Country and would appreciate short essays and interviews. I love to know what you’re reading that you recommend — whether that’s a book, an article, a tweet thread, etc.

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

Some of us are artists ourselves: We/Deep River were an out and proud female vocal group in Nashville 1993-2003 who sang with Vince Gill, opened for Mark Wills and Wilma Lee Cooper, had songs recognized by Robert K. Oermann and were legally repped by Mike Milom but ultimately kicked to the curb because we’re gay, so how about a story, a paragraph or a even a mention about women who came before…and we’re still packing clubs around Asheville like White Horse Black Mountain last Saturday night.

Expand full comment
Mar 2, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

Hi! Welcome back! I loved this newsletter and learned about some of my favorite artists from it. My favorite issue was the end of year one, taking about favorite songs/artists. Love all the song recs.

Otherwise, I guess contextualizing what’s going on in the country world or deep diving on something that’s interesting to you, an interview with an artist you think is flying under the radar.

I am horrible at checking email so I would be happy once a month. Or I can have several to read in batches when I can get to it.

Expand full comment
founding
Mar 1, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

Thrilled that you folks are going to keep this going and Thank You for posting the invitation for feedback. It's very appreciated.

The thing that you have is your POV and proximity to contemporary country music culture (which is a horrible phrase and must never be turned into an acronym!) You see things first/ early, can pattern match to help us understand what's going on, and then your POV is the moat. No one brings exactly your take on all of this and that's what I want to read.

This applies across topic areas - whether it's artists/ releases, trend pieces, business news, or the occasional call out of the slow drip horribleness (see: Miranda Lambert/ Morgan Wallen.) Front row view/ context/ your POV = crushes.

Psyched!

Expand full comment
Feb 28, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

I’d love anything y’all want to write about that might not find a home in any other forum... on or (seemingly) off topic.

Expand full comment
Feb 28, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

I'm newer to listening to country, so all the written pieces were new info to me. Enjoyed all of those. I really liked the album and singles recommendations. One small thing I think would be cool is a throwback album pick mixed in sometimes. I'm sure there are some canon country albums that longtime listeners already know about, but maybe if there are big anniversaries or you just felt like listening to an old fave that week, it would be cool to check those out.

Expand full comment
founding
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

So glad you’re coming back! I’d pretty much echo what has mostly been said already, essays with your perspectives on whatever is currently happening in country music and putting it in historical context, anything that can keep me up to date without having to go back to twitter lol. Also loved the music recs and mini-reviews, and once or twice a month would be great but would never object to more.

Expand full comment

Here for whatever y’all want to do! The recommendations were always great, and wouldn’t mind quick run-downs of whatever you’ve published lately.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

A few "suggested songs to check out," maybe some analysis in the form of essays. I also enjoy a look-back at influential albums and artists.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

Glad the newsletter is coming back. I'd enjoy more essays with your takes on current trends in country, as well as quick write-ups on new songs/albums/artists you're digging at the moment.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

I love hearing about up and coming artists and would appreciate any recommendations on new songs to check out. Brief write-ups and short features/back-stories are preferred since we all have a lot to read. Once every week or two, or even once a month works for me. Thanks for asking.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

Hi! So glad to get this email! I’m a country music novice particularly current day country. I enjoy the brief music reviews and recommendations. I think weekly or biweekly as a frequency would be great - but really, whatever you can muster since I know you all are super busy.

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

Welcome back! I also loved the essays. Once a week or two is great; I'm subscribed to a newsletter that has 2 or 3 updates a week and that's pretty overwhelming.

I found the playlists a little bit overwhelming last time but that's also because of my compulsive need to listen to all the music.

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Don't Rock The Inbox

You two have personal access to the best musicians (like Brandi Carlile) and music scenes. Marissa I loved your reporting on Girls Just Wanna. I would love to hear any information about who's playing in Nashville, who's writing with whom, who's recording, etc. Thanks!

Expand full comment